Industry Legislation

Alaska, Connecticut Closer to Licensing for Nail Technicians

Of the four states still left without any kind of licensing regulations (Alaska, Connecticut, Nebraska, and Utah) regarding nail technicians, the first two are well on their way to making a change for the better.

Of the four states still left without any kind of licensing regulations (Alaska, Connecticut, Nebraska, and Utah) regarding nail technicians, the first two are well on their way to making a change for the better.

Alaska’s Bill HCS CSSB 51 (L&C) which provides for two levels of manicuring license for nail technicians, passed in both the state Senate and House in May.

The first license level requires only 12 hours of training in health, safety, and sanitation. However, the second, more advanced level requires technicians to undergo 250 hours of training. According to sources at Alaska Barbers and Hairdressers, the only difference between the tow is that the second level of training gives a nail technician “more of an endorsement.”

The bill will soon come to rest on Gov. Tony Knowles’ desk, waiting for his signature or veto, or the bill could pass into law without either. According to the Alaska Barbers and Hairdressers, the status of the bill will be determined in about a month. Nail technicians wanting more information can call Alaska barbers and Hair dressers at (907) 465-2547. The text of Bill 51 can be viewed here.

In Connecticut, the House has passed Bill 404 Substitute, which, if it becomes law, will require a nail technician to have a license as f January 2000. The bill defines a nail technician as a person who “engages in the art of manicuring the fingernails and, for cosmetic purposes only, trimming, filling, and painting the healthy toenails, excluding cutting nail beds, corns and calluses or other medical treatment involving the foot. The term includes, but is not limited to, the application and removal of sculptured or artificial nails and wrapped nails.”

The bill also makes provisions for a Connecticut Examining Board for barber-hairdressers, estheticians and nail technicians. The board will consist of nine members, appointed by the governor, including four licensed barber-hairdressers, one licensed esthetician, one licensed nail technician, and three public members. The governor will also appoint a chairperson.

The bill also requires prospective nail technicians to have completed 150 hours of schooling on theoretical and practical components of nail care, including “coursework in antifungal technique, blood-borne diseases, and clean air requirements.”

After filling out the application and paying $50, applicants must take a state board exam in order to receive a license. License renewals will be $25 per year.

In addition, the bill also makes provisions for reciprocity from other states and foreign countries. It also includes a grandfather clause, which automatically licenses nail techs with at least one year of prior work experience.

According to the state board, Bill 404 substitute could be voted on in the State Senate in mid-May or early June. For more information, contact the Conecticut Department of Health at (860) 509-7569. Bill 404 Substitute’s full text can be viewed here.

Alabama Licensing up for Review

When NAILS last reported on the sunset review process in Alabama, the Board of Cosmetology was reviewing the provisions and authorization of Alabama’s managing manicurist, manicure instructor, manicure salon, and manicure school licenses. State auditors and legal counsel auditing Alabama’s board were considering removing the licenses because the state had not made proper allowances to collect fees associated with them.

If the licenses are ultimately removed, Alabama nail salon owners would have to hire licensed cosmetologists to keep their salons open.

When the state legislature came back into session this spring, members of the congress reviewed Bill #152 substitute, which was designed to help make improvements for the nail industry in Alabama and solve the problems unearthed by the sunset review. At press time, the bill was still in the legislature.

Among other things, the substitute bill calls for an increased number of school hours. According to jean Parker, director of cosmetology at Wallace State Community College and co-author of Bill #152 substitute, a licensed nail tech would have to have 600 school hours, instead of the current 300. “There are just some things that students can not learn in the current 300 hours of instruction,” says Wallace, who has also been fighting (along with fellow nail technicians) to keep the licensing structure for managing manicurists, manicure instructors, manicure salons, and manicure schools. If the bill passes, it would be possible for Alabama’s state board to start making administrative laws, including that allowance of nails-only schools, and manicurist-owned salons.

Keywords:   Alaska     Connecticut     legislation     licensing     Nebraska     state licensing     Utah  

Leave a Comment

Name:
Email:
Comment:
Submit

Comments (1)

Subscribe to NAILS & SAVE!

Get a free preview issue and a Free Gift
Subscribe Today!

Please sign in or register to .    Close
Loading...
 
Subscribe Today
Subscribe Today