Five recipients of the PBA 2016 Lifetime Member Scholarship will receive $1,000 each to be applied toward cosmetology education. Sponsored by the Joseph L. Weir Trust, which was established in 1984 for charitable and educational purposes, the annual Lifetime Member Scholarship was started in 2014 and celebrates an individual’s commitment to PBA and the beauty industry.

The recipients are:

  • Natalia Pryannick, California
  • Heather Tonarelli, california
  • Kylie Youmans, Colorado
  • Laura Jones, Minnesota
  • Catherine Lopez, Ohio

“The Professional Beauty Association’s mission to advance the beauty industry focuses on aspiring and licensed professionals,” said PBA Executive Director Steve Sleeper. “We respect the amount of time, energy and effort these individuals dedicate to acquire their licenses and sustain their careers. These scholarships are not only a token of our association’s appreciation, but also a recognition from our Lifetime Members.”

 Lifetime Member Scholarships are awarded to both students and licensed professionals who demonstrate their dedication to the beauty industry and desire to make a positive, long-term impact.

 “Winning the scholarship is huge for me,” said 2016 Lifetime Member Scholarship Recipient Heather Tonarelli. The impact on my career is immeasurable. I will have more advanced training early in my career so I have more to offer to employers and clients. With advanced training, I’ll be more confident and knowledgeable, and able to use my artistry and education for a career, not just a job.”

Applications for the 2017 Lifetime Member Scholarship are being accepted now until March 1, 2017. To learn more, click here.

You Might Also Like: Hurry! Deadlines for PBA Scholarships Are Fast Approaching



For reprint and licensing requests for this article, Click here.

Read more about