Close

ALERT: New 2020 Law Requires CA Booth Renters to Meet These Requirements

While this law doesn’t apply outside of California, it could become a model for other states.  Salons utilizing renters will have to run a much tighter ship and booth renters will need to show specific ways in which they are independent from the salon owner.

Read more

California Employee Classification Law Passes With Exemptions for Booth Rental

After beauty professionals campaigned for nails and skin care to be included, California Assembly Bill 5 was amended to offer exemptions to licensed manicurists and estheticians as well as hairstylists and barbers.

PBFC Hosts Legislators and Regulators in Sacramento

The Professional Beauty Federation of California's Welcome to Our World (W.O.W.) lobbying event took place at the Capitol Events Center, next door to the Capitol building in Sacramento.

New California Laws Tackle Salon Product Ingredients and Cruelty-Free Cosmetics

A first-of-its-kind law in California requires all ingredients to be disclosed on the labels of professional beauty products. Lawmakers also toughen cruelty-free cosmetics regulations.

Congress Introduces Legislation to Aid Beauty-Based Businesses by Extending Tax Tip Credit

Congressman Darin LaHood and Congresswoman Suzan DelBene recently introduced legislation that would extend the Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA) tax tip credit to employer-based beauty service establishments where tipping is also customary.

Legislative Update: Vermont Reduces Instruction Hours

Vermont reduces instruction hours and Tenessee authorizes mobile work.

Calif. Supreme Court Decision May Affect Booth Rental Salons

A new California Supreme Court decision has strengthened the distinctions between independent contractor and employee, meaning the vast majority of salons will no longer be able to claim independent contractor status for their workers.

Vermont Reduces Nail Tech Instruction Hours

Effective January 1, 2019, Vermont H 684 reduces the hours of instruction required for nail technicians from 400 to 200 hours.

Kentucky Reduces School Hours for Nail License

Kentucky’s governor just signed a bill into law reducing the course of instruction for nail technicians from 600 to 450 hours.

Alcohol OK at California Salons

As of January 1, 2017, owners of California beauty salons and barbershops can legally offer clients one free serving of wine or beer.